REGULAR MEETING HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY MARCH 14, 2011 – 5:30 p.m.

<u>Roll Call:</u> John Halbkat, President; members: Steve Fryberger, Tim VanBerkum, Michele Bennett, and Nichole Yost; Student Members: Sloane Mack, Sarah Dismounts, and Adrian Del Grosso; Acting Superintendent/High School Principal Terry Nebelsick, and Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

Sarah Dismounts led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to adopt the agenda.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda including the following items: (1) The minutes from the meetings held on February 14 and 28. (2) The bills for payment as presented (see attached listing). (3) The financial report (as printed below). (4) The hiring of Doug Erickson/substitute custodian/\$11.44 per hour; Richard Reimer/temporary assistant principal/\$320 per day; and Hailey McCune / student worker. (5) The rehiring of the following administrators for 2011-2012 with salaries to be set at a later date: Roger Ahlers, Kelly Christopherson, Beth Foss, Peggy Heinz, Darci Love, Kenneth Mees, Demi Moon, Terry Nebelsick, Terry Rotert, Heather Rozell, Michael Taplett, Carol Tompkins, and Laura Willemssen. (6) Alternative instruction program application for public school exemption #225. (7) A request to advertise for bids for milk/ dairy products and a prime vendor for food for the 2011-2012 school year.

	Bank Balance 2-01-11	Receipts	Disbursements	Bank Balance 2-28-11
General Fund Capital Outlay	4,308,894.91 549,231.15	989,264.27 37,295.65	1,144,650.84 16,778.98	4,153,508.34 569,747.82
Special Education	950,498.19	158,574.12	206,896.28	902,176.03
Pension Fund	103,868.80	3,748.38	0.00	107,617.18
Building Fund	7,438.38	1,278.40	472.50	8,244.28
Bond Redemption	299,984.18	12,529.38	0.00	312,513.56
Food Service Concessions	83,248.35 311,380.32	61,621.78 17,071.27	47,702.66 27,458.76	97,167.47 300,992.83
Activity Account	130,684.89	1,206.41	4,645.93	127,245.37
Health Insurance	82,053.62	175,204.42	166,539.15	90,718.89
Scholarship Fund	163,310.02	0.00	0.00	163,310.02

Celebrate Successes in the District

Congratulations to Brittany Hirschkorn and Paige Shonley from the Girls Basketball Team for being named ESD All-Conference 1st team and 2nd team respectfully.

Congratulations to the Varsity Girls Hockey Team for its 7th place finish at state. Shelby Bjorke was the Huron recipient of the 2011 Hobey Baker High School Character Award. Becky Smoyer recipient of 2011 Academic All-State winner.

Congratulations to the Varsity Boys Hockey team for 2nd place finish at state. Robert Pietz and Drake Anshutz were named 2nd team All-State defensemen. Tyler Ruedebusch received the Hobey Baker Athlete with Character Award. Erik Burnison and Matthew Axtmann were Sam Tronnes Scholarship award winners.

Congratulations to Thorn Dramstad, who was chosen by the SD Arts council as one of the five finalists from the State of South Dakota to receive a fellowship to attend the Summer Music Institute put on by the National Symphony at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC. One of the five will be chosen to attend the 4-week institute this summer from the state of SD.

Congratulations to Coach Jonna Reid, recipient of the Assistant Gymnastics Coach of the Year award for 2011 by SD Gymnastic Coaches Association.

Congratulations to Adam House and Chrissy Marotteck, who both advanced to the semifinals of the LD Debate.

Frank Hines, Madison 4th grader, qualified for the State Geography Bee in Brookings on April 1st.

Congratulations to Tarran Even, Kevin Kayser, and Logan Mulder from Jefferson, who bridged to Boy Scouts.

Chairman Halbkat congratulated Terry Nebelsick on being named South Dakota's "Outstanding Women's Basketball Official" for 2011. Thank you to the United Way for the \$3,000.00 grant to Jefferson Elementary to purchase book bags which contain manipulatives and reading materials for students to take home this summer.

Thank you to Terry Rotert, the certified and classified staff, Arena custodial staff, concessions staff, and all others who helped to make Huron a great place to have the State B Girls Basketball Tournament.

Thank you to Runnings and Red Brand Fence for their contribution to the FFA program.

Congratulations to Lori Keleher for being named a South Dakota E-Mentor Teacher.

<u>Reports</u>

- A. Classified Employee of the Month Josephine Hofer, lunchroom supervisor at Madison Elementary, was recognized as the Classified Employee of the Month for March.
- B. Good News Report Students from Ruth Pulscher's 5th grade class at Madison Elementary reported on recent activities of Madison Mighty.
- C. Business Manager's Report Kelly Christopherson presented the Business Manager's Report to the Board.
- D. Legislative Action Network Report Tim VanBerkum reported on activity in the Legislature.
- E. School Board Candidates John Halbkat and Brian Hines are candidates for the school board election to be held April 12, 2011. There is one position up for election.
- F. Dates to Remember March 18 is the parent teacher comp day and no school. March 22 is the property assessment appeals meeting. March 29 and 31 are the elementary conferences. April 11 is the first teacher negotiations session. April 12 is the school board election. April 22 is Good Friday and there isn't any school. April 25 is a make-up snow day and there is school. April 26 is the 2nd teacher negotiations session. May 9 is the 3rd teacher negotiations session.

Community Input

Daren Allerdings commented on the proposed 2011-2012 calendar.

Brian Hines commented on the proposed 2011-2012 calendar.

Old Business

Motion by Yost, second by Bennett, and carried to approve the 2011-2012 school calendar as proposed by the calendar committee. Vote: Yost – Yes; Fryberger – Yes; Halbkat – Yes; VanBerkum – Yes; and Bennett – No.

New Business

None.

Motion by Bennett, second by VanBerkum, and unanimously carried to enter executive session at 6:25 p.m. to discuss personnel.

Motion by Yost, second by Fryberger, and unanimously approved to exit executive session at 10:02 p.m.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 10:02 p.m.

John Halbkat, President

Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager