REGULAR MEETING HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY MAY 9, 2011 – 5:30 p.m.

<u>Roll Call:</u> John Halbkat, President; members: Steve Fryberger, Tim VanBerkum, Michele Bennett, and Nichole Yost; Student Members: Sarah Dismounts and Adrian Del Grosso; Acting Superintendent/High School Principal Terry Nebelsick, and Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

Adrian Del Grosso led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Yost, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to adopt the agenda.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda including the following items: (1) The minutes from the meetings held on April 11 and April 25. (2) The bills for payment as presented (see attached listing). (3) The financial report (as printed below). (4) The hiring of Laura Backhaus/substitute teacher/\$85 per day; Aaron Mudge/substitute teacher/\$85 per day/substitute bus driver/\$11.65 per hour/substitute custodian/\$11.44 per hour; Jeanette Cornelious/substitute food service/\$10.32 per hour; and Lora Katz/substitute food service/\$10.32 per hour. (5) In the SDHSAA Election, cast a vote for Mike Ruth of Miller for Division III Board Position and cast a yes vote for 2011 constitutional amendments for a shorter election period and a classification deadline. (6) Renewed Workers Compensation Insurance coverage with ASBSD for 2011-2012 in the amount of \$142,069 with coverage for Board members. (7) Renewed Property/Liability Insurance coverage with ASBSD for 2011-2012 in the amount of \$98,605 and designated Rick Long as the local agent for a fee of \$5,831. (8) Accept the indirect cost rate calculation received from the Department of Education in the amount of 1.86% and effective for 5 years. (9) The request from the SD State Fair and the Huron Chamber & Visitors Bureau to use school district buses during the upcoming 2011 Outdoor Expo which is scheduled for June 11-12. (10) Alternative instruction program application for public school exemption #227. (11) Signing the School Improvement Grant application. (12) Award the bid for milk and dairy products to Dean Foods and award the food service prime vendor contract to US Foodservice. (Complete bid recaps are on file in the Business Office). (12) Teaching contracts for 2011-2012 for Cassey Ver Hey/3rd grade/\$31,820; Abby Bockorny/1st grade and coaching/\$38,048; Becky Moeding/2nd grade and coaching/\$37,831; and Laura McGirr/ middle school language arts and coaching/\$42,316. (13) The Form of Agreement between the school and Koch Hazard Architects for the Madison School Addition. (14) Permission to advertise for bids for gasoline and diesel fuel for 2011-2012.

	4-01-11			4-30-11
General Fund Capital Outlay	3,924,042.24 591,823.36	943,495.12 97,676.21	1,105,996.00 48,703.34	3,761,541.36 640,796.23
Special Education	864,138.54	159,551.85	201,898.67	821,791.72
Pension Fund	112,393.15	9,741.92	0.00	122,135.07
Building Fund	8,900.73	0.00	314.00	8,586.73
Bond Redemption	332,729.54	42,846.67	0.00	375,576.21
Food Service Concessions	119,503.17 314,858.37	66,992.63 7,983.63	138,875.29 11,917.32	47,620.51 310,924.68
Activity Account	132,038.09	2,033.18	14,632.16	119,439.11
Health Insurance	98,830.51	176,676.29	162,985.70	112,521.10
Scholarship Fund	167,590.73	0.00	0.00	167,590.73
	6,666,848.43	1,506,997.50	1,685,322.48	6,488,523.45

Celebrate Successes in the District

Congratulated Sherri Nelson and Lisa Kissner for being selected to make a presentation on Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol at the Sioux Falls Summer Symposium next month.

Congratulated Jim Musil and Becca Briggs for completing master's degree programs.

Congratulated Alison Fenske and Sara Skorheim for being awarded camp scholarships from the Huron Lioness and Huron Lions Club Diabetes Awareness Program.

Congratulated HHS students Alex Wharton, Lane Urban, Bernie Keeler, Halle Halbkat, Courtney Smith, Danae Schaefers, and Adam Schied who have been volunteering their time to visit with shut-ins.

Congratulated Avery Del Grosso, Alexander Zell, Elaine Hines, and Alison Fenske who have received scholarships to the Governor's Camp.

Congratulated ThaDah Htoo who received 2nd place for her stamp design from the US Post Office.

Thanked Linda Eck, Dawn Marshall, Vanessa Hoyer, Linda Hanks, Rita Baszler, and Kris Wiedenman for their help in organizing the Dakota Smiles Dental Bus visit and Terry Rotert and Colette Habbena for providing the Arena as a space for it during these two weeks. Thanked all secretaries and office managers who keep the schools and offices working smoothly and efficiently.

Reports

- A. Good News Report Roger Ahlers, Technology Director, presented information regarding the school district's technology department.
- B. Business Manager's Report Kelly Christopherson presented the Business Manager's Report to the Board.
- C. Superintendent's Report Terry Nebelsick announced next year's student school board members will be Michael Nicholas, Adrian Del Grosso, and Arthur Hines.
- D. Report from the Board President John Halbkat explained the process used to hire the Superintendent.
- E. Health Insurance for 2011-2012 Kelly Christopherson reported the Health Insurance Committee is actively working on a recommendation for the Board.

Motion by Bennett, second by VanBerkum, and unanimously carried to enter executive session at 6:00 p.m. to discuss student issues.

Motion by Bennett, second by Fryberger, and unanimously approved to exit executive session at 6:38 p.m.

Halbkat departed the meeting at 6:38 p.m.

Motion by Bennett, second by Fryberger, and unanimously carried to issue a 90 suspension to high school student HS-A-2010-11.

Motion by Bennett, second by Fryberger, and unanimously carried to issue a 90 suspension to middle school student MS-A-2010-11.

F. Dates to Remember – May 11 is the Employee Recognition Banquet. May 13 is 8th grade recognition night. May 13 is elementary planning/staff development and there is no school for the elementary students. May 17 is HHS Class Day and the Athletic Banquet. May 18 is Baccalaureate. May 20 is the last day of classes. May 22 is graduation. May 23 is teacher checkout. May 30 is Memorial Day.

Community Input

None.

Fryberger departed the meeting at 6:42 p.m.

Old Business

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to approve the changes to School Board Policy KG – Community Use of School Facilities. Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to remove the Activity Admission Prices item from the table for discussion.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to amend the proposal and set the elementary/middle school activity ticket price at \$20 and the high school activity ticket price at \$25.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to approve activity admission prices as amended.

Halbkat returned to the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

New Business

Kelly Christopherson presented and summarized the proposed budget for 2011-2012. The Board will conduct a budget hearing June 13 and consider final budget approval at the June 27 meeting. No action was taken.

Motion by Yost, second by VanBerkum, and unanimously carried to opt-out for \$1,500,000 for five years and not schedule an election on the issue

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to cast a vote for Eric Christensen from Mitchell to be a School Board representative on the South Dakota Retirement System Board of Trustees.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to enter executive session at 7:48 p.m. to discuss personnel and classified employee negotiations.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Yost, and unanimously approved to exit executive session at 8:50 p.m.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 8:50 p.m.

John Halbkat, President

Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager