SPECIAL MEETING HURON BOARD OF EDUCATION – HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY APRIL 25, 2011 – 5:30 p.m.

Roll Call: John Halbkat, President; and members: Nichole Yost, Tim

VanBerkum, Steve Fryberger, and Michele Bennett. Student members: Adrian Del Grosso, Sarah Dismounts, and Sloane Mack. Acting Superintendent/High School Principal Terry Nebelsick, and

Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Sarah Dismounts.

Motion by Bennett, second by VanBerkum, and unanimously carried to adopt the agenda.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda including the following items: (1) The canvas of election results with John Halbkat being elected to a 3-year term beginning July 1, 2011. (2) A request to let bids on the vocational house building project for 2011-2012. (3) Set the date of July 19 for a surplus property auction. (4) Alternative instruction program application for public school exemption #226.

Celebrate Successes in the District

Congratulated Girls State Representatives Anna Cramer, Halle Halbkat, Courtney Smith, and alternate Pa Pa Win.

Congratulated Boys State Representatives Jordon Hopper, Robert Friedrichsen, Sam Sheffield, Ba Blu Moo, Luke Carr, Jarren Duffy, Michael Nicholas, Tyler Hajek, and Cain Glanzer.

Congratulated Alexander Zell for helping to lead the way to the installation of traffic signals at the intersection of 27th Street & Highway 37.

Congratulated Madisyn Gohn and Tarin Hupp for being selected to participate in SD Voices for Children's 2011 Kids Speak public forum April 29 in Sioux Falls.

Congratulated winners in the American Legion Auxiliary Americanism Essay & Poem Contest. Essay winners are Abbie DeJong (1st) Washington, Jeclyn Lichty (2nd) Madison, and Nathan Moon (3rd) Washington. Poem winners are Chelsea Hofer (1st) Madison and Jeclyn Lichty (2nd). Abbie DeJong was also named one of

the two top winners in the District essay contest and her entry will be sent to the State American Legion Auxiliary.

Congratulated Tasha Hernandez for being one of four high school students to receive the Jordan Interpretative Award.

Congratulated Kelly Cronin who received the local outstanding Senior debater award, Crystal Wharton who received the local outstanding novice debater award and Joe Osborn for being named most improved debater.

Congratulated the cast of "Dorothy Meets Alice" and directors Darlene Haberstick and Molly Perry.

<u>Reports</u>

Presentation to the FFA Program – Rick Sabers presented a donation to the Huron FFA program on behalf of his family in honor of his father.

Good News Report – ESL students from the elementary, middle school, and high school were recognized for their achievement.

ESL Appraisal Report – Mike Taplett, Jean Larson, and Sherri Nelson reported on an ESL Appraisal Report received from the State.

Five-Year Capital Outlay Plan – Kelly Christopherson presented a report to the Board.

Huron Wellness Committee – The committee is going to hire a consulting firm to develop a strategic plan for Huron's community led wellness initiatives and is asking for financial support.

Superintendent's Report – Terry Nebelsick, Acting Superintendent, gave a report.

Dates to Remember – May 11 is the Employee Recognition Banquet. May 13 is 8th grade recognition night. May 13 is elementary planning/staff development and there is no school for the elementary students. May 17 is HHS Class Day. May 18 is Baccalaureate. May 20 is the last day of classes. May 22 is graduation. May 23 is teacher checkout. May 30 is Memorial Day.

Community Input

None.

Old Business

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to ratify the 2011-2012 Certified Negotiations.

New Business

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and unanimously carried to approve the completed annual review questionnaire for Tax Exempt Bonds and Tax Advantage Bonds as part of post-issuance compliance.

The Board reviewed proposed changes to School Board Policy KG – Community Use of School Facilities. This was the first reading of the proposed changes and no action was taken.

Motion by Bennett, second by VanBerkum, to approve the proposed increases in admission prices for school activities. This motion was not voted on.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and carried to table the proposed increases in admission prices for school activities. Vote: Bennett – Yes; VanBerkum – Yes; Yost – Yes; Halbkat – Yes; and Fryberger – No.

Motion by Bennett, second by Yost, and carried to donate \$1,000 from the Concessions Fund to the Huron Wellness Committee as a sponsorship. Vote: VanBerkum – Yes; Yost – Yes; Halbkat – Yes; Bennett – No; and Fryberger – No.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Bennett, and unanimously carried to enter executive session at 7:25 p.m. to discuss personnel.

Motion by Yost, second by Bennett, and unanimously approved to exit executive session at 9:50 p.m.

Motion by VanBerkum, second by Fryberger, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 9:50 p.m.

| John Halbkat, President | Kelly Christopherson, Business Manager |
|-------------------------|--|